All those people who have attained their nursing license are required to renew their license every two years to be able to keep practicing.
The department of nursing usually sends a mail regarding the renewal of your nursing license at your known last postal address 90 days before the license expires. It is even though your working status is active or inactive.
The renewal of the license is just to keep the license in an active mode.
If you do not receive any mail related to your nursing license, you must contact the department otherwise your license will be put in a delinquent status.
In a delinquent state, if you are still unable to renew your license within the allotted time, then the board of the nursing authorities or the department holds every right to render your license null and void.
In such situations, departments usually ask the board to take serious notice of such situations.
Main steps for renewal of a nursing license
1 A reminder
Usually the department of the nursing reminds you that your license expiry date is about to come. Around 90 days before the expiry date, a renewal notification postcard is mailed to you on your last known active postal address.
When you receive the mail, complete the required paperwork and send a copy to the department via mail. Now you can also renew online if you have a credit card.
2 Basic CE Requirements
You must complete the primary CE that is continuing Education hours requirements. For the first time renewal, 24 hours of appropriate CE which includes 2-hour course of Prevention of Medical Errors, 2 hours of Laws and Rules and 1-hour course of AIDS/HIV.
3 Renewal application
Then you must fulfill the renewal application. You can get this application form online from the website or you can download it, fill it and send it to the Department of Health Board of Nursing, Florida.
4 Pay fees
Along with the application, the fees are to be submitted. If you are applying online, then the transaction can be done through credit card.
And if you are submitting your application through mail then attached you cashier’s cheque with the application.
It is usually $80 for the renewal fees but if you have passed the renewal deadline, then you will pay the late fees as well. It is around $135.
5 Application processing time
It takes 7-10 business days in the processing of the application. So, if you acted upon the renewal notification postcard immediately and posted the application within the period, then your renewal will be on time.
But if you have delayed the whole process, then you will have to not only pay the late fees but also wait long for your renewed license.
6 Continuing work
During the processing of the renewal application, a nurse who has proof to their current active license can continue to work without their new license.
You can get your renewal license proof from online where you can print your receipt. But eventually, it all depends upon your employer.
If they are okay with you working without your new license, then fine. Some ask their nurses to get back when their licenses have renewed.
7 Renew your Nursing License!
To apply immediately for nursing license renewal, please visit this link. Floridasnursing.gov/renewals/